The Baking Owl

a blog written by an aspiring 17 year old baker.

50th Chocolate Coffee Birthday Cake

Leave a comment

Adding to the list of desserts I made during Thanksgiving week, I made this 50th birthday cake for my mom’s cousin. My whole wheat chocolate coffee cake is a favorite among my family, so I made this along with delicious milk chocolate frosting as the filling.

IMG_0245

IMG_0262

I used a simple piping technique to pipe little rosettes on the top of the cake with a star tip. I made the number 50 with melted chocolate and round gold sprinkles. I piped the number 50 multiple times (in case some broke) onto a piece of parchment paper and let the chocolate harden in the freezer. After words, I picked my best one and quickly transferred the frozen chocolate onto the cake before it melted.

IMG_0175

IMG_0285

I’m terrible at getting the sides of the cake completely smooth (also I get a bit impatient :/ ) but this time I easily covered them up with chocolate hazelnut wafers.

IMG_0247

The cake turned out to be really simple, but elegant. Not to mention yummy! 🙂

IMG_0174

If you enjoy reading posts like this and would like to get updated whenever I post something new, please follow my blog by typing in your email in the “Follow The Baking Owl” box on the right ->->.

Also, to watch tutorials on how to make many delicious treats, subscribe to my YouTube channel – TheBakingOwl!

Thanks for reading! 😉

Author: sofia abbas

just a teenaged girl with a food blog and a passion for baking

Leave a comment